The cranium is part of the axial skeleton and comprises 22 bones (excluded the mandible). The cranium is divided into the neurocranium (made of the 8 cranial bones) and the viscerocranium (formed by the 14 facial bones). The role of the cranium is to protect its content (cerebellum, cerebrum, and brain stem) and provide supports and attachment to the facial muscles.
« Back to Glossary Index